Weekly Current Affairs – 11th to 17th November 2019

Miscellaneous News

⚫Dhruv Prajapati, a research scholar from the Gujarat Ecological Education & Research Foundation, has discovered two new spider species in Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Gujarat. Their names are “Marengo Sachin Tendulkar” named after Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar & “Indomarengo chavarapater” named after Saint Kuriakose Elias Chavara.

⚫Suranga Bawadi in Bijapur, Karnataka was selected as the World Monument Watch List for 2020, by the New York-based non-governmental organisation. It was selected under the category of “Ancient Water System of the Deccan Plateau” along with 24 monuments across the world.

⚫Nita Ambani has become the first Indian to be named an honorary trustee of “The Metropolitan Museum of Art”.

⚫The Information and Broadcasting Ministry launched
the official anthem and radio jingle for the golden jubilee edition of International Film Festival of India (IFFI), scheduled to take place in Goa.

⚫Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro will be the chief guest at India’s Republic Day 2020 celebrations.

⚫The new signal fish “Pteropsaron Indicum” was found in Lakshadweep sea off Kerala coast, which is the home for unusual species like fish with a unique color.

⚫Union Home Minister Amit Shah will inaugurate the National Tribal Festival “Aadi Mahotsav” with the theme “Spirit of Tribal Culture, Craft, Cuisine and Commerce” in New Delhi.

Static Takeaways

⚫Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change: Prakash Javadekar.

⚫RBI 25th Governor: Shaktikant Das, Headquarters: Mumbai, Founded: 1 April 1935, Kolkata.

⚫Union Defence minister: Rajnath Singh.

⚫Minister of Commerce and Industry: Piyush Goyal.

⚫President of All India Football Federation: Praful Patel; Founded: 23 June 1937.

⚫Lieutenant Governor of Jammu and Kashmir: Girish Chandra Murmu.

⚫Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs: Hardeep Singh Puri.

⚫NASA Administrator: Jim Bridenstine; Established: 29 July 1958.

⚫Formation of Wildlife Conservation Society: April 26, 1895; Headquarters: New York, United States.

⚫Gujarat CM: Vijay Rupani; Governor: Acharya Dev Vrat; Capital: Gandhinagar.

⚫SCO Secretary-General: Vladimir Norov.

⚫Chairman of SBI: Rajnish Kumar; Formed: 1 July 1955.

⚫FICCI of Founded: 1927; Headquarters; New Delhi.

⚫Bangladesh Capital: Dhaka; Currency: Taka; PM: Sheikh Hasina.

⚫Assam Capital: Dispur; CM: Sarbananda Sonowal; Governor: Jagdish Mukhi.

⚫Iran Capital: Tehran; Currency: Rial; President: Hassan Rouhani.

⚫Mauritius Capital: Port Louis; Currency; Mauritian rupee.

⚫Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change: Prakash Javadekar.

⚫Director-General of CSIR: Shekhar C. Mande.

⚫Chairman of the Khadi and Village Industries Commission: Vinai Kumar Saxena.

⚫President of FIFA: Gianni Infantino; Founded: 21 May 1904.

⚫Capital of Brazil: Brasilia; Currency: Brazilian real.

⚫Punjab CM: Amarinder Singh; Governor: VP Singh Badnore.

⚫Chairman of CCI: Ashok Kumar Gupta; Headquarters of CCI: New Delhi.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *