17. Kristalina Georgieva named as IMF chief

The International Monetary Fund formally selected Kristalina Georgieva of Bulgaria as the IMF MD. She will succeed Christine Lagarde. Kristalina was previously the CEO of World Bank. She is the second woman ever to lead the IMF.

18. Nilesh Shah has been appointed as the AMFI Chairman

Nilesh Shah, MD of Kotak Mahindra Asset Management, has been appointed as the Chairman of the Association of Mutual Funds in India (AMFI). He will be succeeding Nimesh Shah, MD and CEO of ICICI Prudential AMC.

19. Karnataka Bank chairman to head SIBSTC governing board

The Chairman of Karnataka Bank Ltd, P Jayarama Bhat, has been elected as the Chairman of the governing board of Southern India Banks’ Staff Training College, Bengaluru. He will hold the post for a period of three years from 2019-2022.

20. Bipin Rawat to be the new Chairman of Chiefs of Staff Committee

Army chief Gen Bipin Rawat will take over as the new Chairman of the Chiefs of Staff Committee. The Chiefs of Staff Committee (COSC) comprises chiefs of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force and the senior most member is appointed as COSC chairperson. He will succeed Air Chief Marshal B.S. Dhanoa.

21. K S Dhatwalia appointed as PIB’s Principal DG

K S Dhatwalia, has been appointed as the Principal Director General of Press Information Bureau. He will succeed Sitanshu Kar. Dhatwalia will continue to hold the additional charge of Director General, Indian Institute of Mass Communication.

[su_divider style=”dotted” divider_color=”#ed0909″ link_color=”#0457bd” size=”2″ margin=”10″]

Do not get depressed while preparation read our motivational stories. These stories help you like anything. Click here to read
News: Others
1. Titan MD Bhaskar Bhat to retire

Bhaskar Bhat, managing director (MD) at Titan is slated to retire at the end of September, 2019, after spending 36 years in the Titan’s administration. Titan is headquartered in the city of Bengaluru.

2. Nissan India Appoints Rakesh Srivastava As Managing Director

Nissan announced the appointment of Rakesh Srivastava as Managing Director, Nissan Motor India and would report to Sinan Ozkok, President of Nissan India Operations. He worked as Director in charge of electric vehicle development, JSW Group.

3. Lt Gen Anil Chauhan assumes charge as Eastern Army Commander

Lieutenant General Anil Chauhan assumed the charge of Eastern Command with a solemn wreath-laying ceremony at the Eastern Command War Memorial, after the post was vacated by Lt Gen MM Naravane, who assumed charge of Vice Chief of the Army Staff.

4. Rajiv Kumar Vyas takes charge as GM of Rail Wheel Factory

Rajiv Kumar Vyas took charge as General Manager, Rail Wheel Factory. Prior to this, he was holding the post of Adviser – Railway Stores Railway Board. He is also founder member of Indian Railway Institute of Logistics and Material Management (IRILMM).

5. Abhijit Guha appointed Head of Hodeidah Mission in Yemen: UN

UN Secretary-General appointed Lieutenant General (retired) Abhijit Guha as the head of the world body’s observer mission in Yemen’s port city of Hodeidah. He will chair the Redeployment Coordination Committee and will also head UNMHA. He will succeed Lieutenant General Michael Lollesgaard.

6. Government appoints Sanjay Tyagi as Director General of Health Services

The government announced the appointment of Dr Sanjay Tyagi as Director General of Health Services (DGHS). He will hold the position of DGHS till he attains 62 years of age. He is Director of GB Pant Institute.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *